Mississauga-Lakeshore voters on trend; Spengemann says he’ll advocate for residents

2015-10-19 spengemann victory 1

(Photo: Nicky Roche/QEW South Post)


An estimated 68.8 per cent of voters in Mississauga-Lakeshore cast a ballot – with 48 per cent choosing Liberal – in the election of Canada’s 42nd Parliament as Trudeamania 2.0 swept the country.

Following the grueling 78-day campaign, Mississauga-Lakeshore tallied 59,340 ballots from 86,308 registered voters; approximate population is 118, 893.

Preliminary statistics from Elections Canada mark a 7 per cent increase nationwide versus the May 2011 election, with 68.5 per cent of electors going to the polls this time around.

Justin Trudeau’s Liberal majority government – 184 out of 338 seats in the House of Commons – was attained with 39.5 per cent of the popular vote in Canada. The Conservatives had 31.9 per cent, followed by the NDP with 19.7 per cent. The Bloc Québécois and Green Party scored 4.7 per cent and 3.4 per cent respectively.

Across Canada, an estimated 17,559,353 registered electors cast a ballot. All figures exclude voters who registered on Oct. 19.

Newly elected Liberal MP Sven Spengemann said he’s committed to learning how to be an advocate for Mississauga-Lakeshore residents.

“That’s what Mr. Trudeau wants,” Spengemann said late Monday.

“He wants us to be on our feet in Ottawa, championing the issues and causes of our community and not simply repeating the message of the Prime Minister in our ridings.”

Spengemann said the Liberals have “heard the message resoundingly” about economics and other key concerns, such as seniors, young people struggling to find good jobs, First Nations communities, and new Canadians becoming established.

Spengemann, who led incumbent Conservative Stella Ambler in the polls and throughout election night as votes were tallied, said he hasn’t yet spoken with Ambler.

“She’s a champion for her community as much as any of the other candidates, and it was great to have her be part of the race,” said Spengemann.

Ambler thanked supporters Monday night, telling them it’s “going to be an interesting four years of Liberal government. I guess we’ll just have to hope for the best.”

Outgoing Prime Minister and Conservative leader Stephen Harper won his riding of Calgary Heritage and remains MP, however, an interim Tory head will soon be appointed.

“With fingers crossed,” Ambler added, “we move into the next era of Canadian politics.”

Mayor Bonnie Crombie congratulated Trudeau and the Liberals in a statement released Monday.

“As a former Member of Parliament, I would like to acknowledge all candidates who have put their names forward to serve, and I wish the very best to those MPs who will be returning to private life,” Crombie said.


Liberal – Sven Spengemann: 48% (28,195 votes)

Conservative – Stella Ambler: 41% (24,485 votes)

New Democratic Party – Eric Guerbilsky: 8% (4,838 votes)

Green Party – Ariana Burgener: 2% (1,395 votes)

Marxist-Leninist – Dagmar Sullivan: 0.2% (111 votes)

Libertarian – Paul Woodworth: 0.5% (316 votes)


Mississauga-Centre – Omar Alghabra: 55% (28,735 votes)

Mississauga East-Cooksville – Peter Fonseca: 54% (28,105 votes)

Mississauga-Erin Mills – Irqa Khalid: 50% (27,518 votes)

Mississauga-Lakeshore – Sven Spengemann: 48% (28,195 votes)

Mississauga-Malton – Navdeep Bains: 59% (25,915 votes)

Mississauga-Streetsville – Gagan Sikand: 48% (26,590 votes)


Liberal: 184

Conservative: 99

New Democratic Party: 44

Bloc Québécois: 10

Green: 1

Total: 338

(Source: Elections Canada)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s